Daily Blessings

Throughout this fertility journey, no matter how much life has thrown at me, I will remember my blessings & affirmations each day.

Redefining the word ” Trying “

Redefining Fertility : Getting Pregnant Fast

Redefining Fertility : Stop Trying, Start Inviting

When I see “OTC” I think of over-the-counter.  When I see “TTC” I think of trying to conceive.  So when these two terms meet, do they become Over Trying to Conceive!?! Quite the opposite. In the 2nd link I listed about, a new term & outlook on fertility as a whole is defined:

OTC: Open to Conception

When asked, how long have you been trying to conceive as opposed to how long have you been open to conceiving, you really have an entirely different mannerism of answering. This made a lot of sense to me. Trying is such a burdensome word, its work, its tiresome, you can feel hopeless if you goal is not attained. You can feel like a failure. For an example in my life, I say my husband and I have been officially trying for 3 cycles (this is our 4th), but have hit our fertile window for 8 cycles (this being our 9th).

Now, if someone were to rephrase it as, How long have you and your husband been open to conceiving, I instantly feel different. I don’t feel as desperate or as bogged down with a timeline of MONTHS that have passed by. My honest answer would be, we’ve been open to conception since we got married in February, so this is our 4th cycle. This was a breakthrough for me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Redefining the word ” Trying “

  1. i love the outlook! xoxo

  2. Nice way of looking at it x

Leave a Reply

